Like Mother, Like Daughter

Like Mother, Like Daughter

While rummaging through vintage photo albums that captured my Mother’s youth, I found a picture that looked oddly similar to one I had taken with my friends.

The center picture in the collage above is of a group of my friends sitting on the steps of an apartment building in Amsterdam. The picture to the left of it was taken some 30 years earlier with my Mom and her friends sitting on the steps to an apartment building in NYC.

The similarity of these photographs gave me the inspiration to take photos that intrigued me from my Mom’s photo album and recreate them. With some help, I was able to capture photographs of myself in similar situations. I gifted the collage above to my Mother for Christmas 2010.

 

Leave a Reply

